Withdrawal Free and Roasted Chicken

I’m happy to report that I have yet to feel any withdrawal symptoms, after my week long primal hiatus. I suppose I didn’t set my cells back as far as I thought I did! Phewf.

I thought I’d share my dinner with you this evening (at least the pictures of it) šŸ˜‰

I decided it was finally time to eat the grass-fed chicken that has been patiently waiting in my freezer. I let it defrost (this took a couple days in the fridge), then:

-preheated my oven to 450f
-greased the skin with butter
-rubbed the skin with sea salt, pepper, summer savory (inside and out) and put a few garlic cloves in the chicken’s cavity
– placed it in a roasting pan and put it in the oven.

After 10 minutes I turned the temperature down to 375f and basted every 20 minutes, for about an hour and a half, until it was ready to come out of the oven. I let it rest for 15 minutes before carving.

While the chicken was resting I decided to experiment with making my own gravy using arrowroot flour, as opposed to wheat flour or corn starch. I didn’t have any stock on hand, so I just mixed 2 tablespoons of arrowroot flour with about 4 tablespoons of drippings from the roasting pan. It thickened up nicely, and was deadly delicious. Glad I didn’t make too much… Haha

There is definitely some truth to the difference in taste between grass fed chickens and the stuff you buy at a typical grocery store. It was moist, aromatic, and delicious! Well, that may also be a nod to my roasting skills šŸ˜‰

If you plan to roast your own chicken, check out this link: http://www.helpwithcooking.com/cooking-poultry/roast-chicken.html

It was very helpful.

20120102-210116.jpg

20120102-210132.jpg

20120102-210140.jpg

20120102-210147.jpg

2 thoughts on “Withdrawal Free and Roasted Chicken

  1. jenny says:

    yum! that sounds delicious!

  2. George E. says:

    That looks awesome. Great job.

Leave a Reply

